Oncology Nursing Society Member Elected President of the Association of Community Cancer Centers



Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) member Luana Lamkin, RN, MPH, was elected president of the Association of Community Cancer Centers (ACCC). She is the adminis-

trator for St. Luke's Mountain States Tumor Institute at St. Luke's Boise Medical Center in Idaho. Lamkin has more than 25 years of oncology experience.

"During my year as ACCC President, I hope to shine a light on the coming professional workforce shortage in oncology, particularly oncology nursing. Through the forums of the ACCC national meetings and publications, we must explore ways to prepare for this inevitability via developing new staffing strategies, encouraging young people to go into oncology careers, and advocating for greater federal funding to meet the educational needs," said Lamkin.

Lamkin has served on the ACCC Board of Directors since 2002. She served as the national treasurer of ONS from 1998–2002 and a six-year term as a member of the American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer.

Lamkin has published numerous articles about the delivery of oncology care in the community setting and has presented at national and international conferences. Her areas of expertise include trends in national oncology care, strategic planning, cancer program development, and nurse staffing issues, including the nursing shortage.

For more information, visit www.accc -cancer.org.

American Cancer Society Honors Two ONS Members as Exemplary Cancer Caregivers

ONS members Britta Newcomer, RN, BSN, OCN®, and Kathryn W. Visneski, RN, MSN, APN, AOCN®, were among 15 cancer care providers chosen to receive the 2009 American Cancer Society (ACS) Lane W. Adams Quality of Life

Award, a prestigious national prize for cancer caring. The award recognizes individuals who have made a difference through innovation, leadership, and consistent excellence in providing compassionate, skilled care and counsel to people living with cancer and their families.

Newcomer is an oncology community outreach nurse at Memorial Hospital System Cancer Center in Colorado Springs, CO. Newcomer works to link patients, caregivers, and families to key community support services, including several ACS programs. She is known for her compassion, dedication, and service to patients with cancer.

Visneski is an oncology nurse specialist at Wellmont Holston Valley Medical Center in Kingsport, TN. Visneski has worked in oncology nursing for more than 20 years and has been a coach and advocate to the patients and survivors she has worked with. Through her passion for her work, Visneski has implemented numerous patient support groups to encourage cancer awareness and provide support to those who face a cancer diagnosis.

Other award winners recognized were Daniel Armstrong, PhD, Haley A. Schwartz, JD, Heidi Schultz Adams, Hen-Vai Wu, MD, Karline Peal, BS, RT(T), MBA, Mark C. Johnson, MD, Mary Sharpe O'Donnell, RN, BS, MHM, CBC, Page Tolbert, LCSW, Tina Cull, RN, BN, CHPN, Sandy Chen Stokes, RN, MSN, Reverend Thomas W. Johns, Bernie Axenfeld, and Robert W. Stone, RN.

ACS has recognized cancer caregivers through the Lane Adams Quality of Life Award since 1988. The awards committee includes long-time national ACS volunteers.

For more information, visit www .cancer.org.

Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association Recognizes ONS Members

The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association (HPNA) recently recognized ONS members Betty Ferrell, RN, PhD, FAAN, Constance Dahlin, APRN, BC, ACHPN®, Anne M. Hughes, PhD, RN, FAAN, Tami Borneman, RN, PHN, MSN, CNS, Patrick J. Coyne, MSN, APRN, ACHPN®, FAAN, Mau-

reen Lynch, MS, APRN, BC, AOCN®, ACHPN®, Pam Malloy, MN, RN, OCN®, Sally Norton, PhD, RN, Elizabeth Ford Pitorak, MSN, CNS, and Rose Virani, RNC, MHA, OCN®.

Ferrell and Dahlin are the recipients of HPNA's 2009 Member Appreciation Certificates, which honor HPNA members who have gone "above and beyond" in assisting HPNA in association-related activities during the previous year.

Hughes is the recipient of the 2009 HPNA New Investigator Award, which recognizes an HPNA nurse at the beginning of his or her research career who has performed superior research focused on clinical care, professional development, or the advancement of hospice and palliative nursing.

Borneman, Coyne, Dahlin, Ferrell, Lynch, Malloy, Norton, Ford Pitorak, and Virani received the Fellows in Palliative Care Nursing (FPCN) distinction, which is intended for HPNA members who are nursing leaders in education, management, advanced practice, and research. Eligible applicants include association executives, chancellors and deans, hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing, nurse consultants, and researchers and entrepreneurs.

For more information, visit www .hpna.org.

President Obama Appoints Mary Wakefield Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration



President Obama announced the appointment of Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN, FAAN, as the administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

Director of the Center for Rural Health at the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks, Wakefield will oversee this critical agency, which helps to deliver health care to those who are uninsured and underserved by the current healthcare system.

"As a nurse, a PhD, and a leading rural healthcare advocate, Mary Wakefield