ONS Leadership

ONS is governed by our President Jeannine Brant, PhD, APRN-CNS, AOCN®, FAAN; an elected Board of Directors; and Chief Executive Officer Brenda Nevidjon, MSN, RN, FAAN. These dedicated representatives set our strategic direction so that we can best influence oncology nursing and the care of patients with cancer. Each leader has a long history of involvement with ONS, and together, they combine decades of experience in nursing practice, research, administration, and nonprofit leadership.

Jeannine Brant, PhD, APRN-CNS, AOCN®, FAAN

Jeannine Brant, PhD, APRN-CNS, AOCN®, FAAN

Jeannine Brant, PhD, PhD, APRN-CNS, AOCN®, FAAN is president of the Oncology Nursing Society.

Dr. Brant earned a BSN from Montana State University, a MS in physiological nursing from the University of California, San Francisco, and a PhD in cancer nursing from the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. She was inducted into the American Academy of Nursing in 2014.

She currently serves as the Executive Director of Clinical Science and Innovation at City of Hope in Duarte, California. Prior to that, Brant was an oncology clinical nurse specialist, pain consultant, nurse scientist, and director of research for Billings Clinic in Montana.

Brant has been an ONS member for more than 35 years. Her involvement in the ONS Enterprise includes serving on the Clinical Practice Committee, the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing editorial board, the Putting Evidence Into Practice resources and guidelines on pain management, the ONS International and Research Think Tanks, and the Oncology Nursing Foundation as a member of several grant review teams and development of ONS resources.

Nationally, she has served on the Joe Biden Moonshot Panel, Clinical Trials Workgroup; the National Academy of Medicine & Sciences Topical Analgesic Panel, the National Quality Forum Opioid Use and Use Disorder Panel, and the American Nurses Association Palliative Care Steering Panel.  Dr. Brant is also an internationally recognized speaker and has lectured at more than 300 national and international seminars and symposia. She is also a prolific writer with more than 150 publications in the literature.

Brant was elected by the ONS Board of Directors to serve as the ONS President from 2022-2023.

Brenda Nevidjon, RN, MSN, FAAN

Chief Executive Officer
Brenda Nevidjon, MSN, RN, FAAN

Brenda Marion Nevidjon, MSN, RN, FAAN, is the Chief Executive Officer of the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS).  Prior to joining the ONS staff, she had an extraordinary nursing career of leadership in service and education.  Through diverse clinical and administrative experiences in Canada, Switzerland, and the United States, she has devoted her energy to bridging practice settings and academic environments to advance patient care, creating innovative work environments, promoting scholarship in practitioners, and developing leaders.  After two decades in oncology clinical and administrative settings, she transitioned to health care executive practice, culminating with her being the first nurse and the first woman to be chief operating officer of Duke University Hospital. Immediately prior to her position at ONS, she was a professor at Duke University School of Nursing.   

Nevidjon has helped develop professional nursing organizations at the local, national, and international levels.  She is past president of ONS and the Oncology Nursing Foundation.  Other board service has included the Association of Community Cancer Centers, the International Society of Nurses in Cancer Care, and the National Cancer Policy Forum. Her bachelors is from Duke University School of Nursing, masters from University of North Carolina School of Nursing, and doctoral study at the Fielding Graduate Institute and Duke.  In addition to being a fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she completed the Johnson & Johnson - Wharton Fellows Program in Management for Nurse Executives and the Robert Wood Johnson Nurse Executive Program. Among her awards are the Duke University School of Nursing Distinguished Alumni Award, the ONS Trish Greene Quality of Life Memorial Lectureship, and the American Nursing Association’s Honorary Recognition Award for sustained contribution to the nursing profession.

ONS Board of Directors

ONS Board of Directors

The ONS Board of Directors is a dedicated group of professionals who serve three-year terms and meet monthly to guide the strategic direction of the Society. Together, they represent decades of experience in oncology nursing clinical care, education, research, and leadership.

To contact members of the Board, please email onsboard@ons.org.

Jeannine M. Brant, PhD, APRN-CNS, AOCN®, FAAN
President (2022-2023) 
Director-at-Large (2020-2022)
Billings, MT

Teresa Knoop, MSN, RN, AOCN®
Secretary (2022-2023)
Director-at-Large (2020-2022)
Brentwood, TN

Valerie Burger, MA, MS, RN, OCN®, CPN
Treasurer (2021-2023)
Director-at-Large (2021-2024)
Bellmore, NY

Kristin Ferguson, DNP, RN, OCN®
Director-at-Large (2019-2023)
Washington, DC 

Danya Garner, PhD, RN, NPD-BC, OCN®, CCRN-K
Director-at-Large (2021-2024)
Houston, TX

Patricia Geddie, PhD, APRN, AOCNS®, FCNS
Director-at-Large (2021-2024)
Winter Park, FL

Deborah "Hutch" Allen, PhD, RN, CNS, FNP-BC, AOCNP 
Director-at-Large (2022-2025)
Pittsboro, NC 
Kris Mathey, MS, APRN-CNP, AOCNP
Director-at-Large (2022-2025)
Hillard, OH 
Jeanene "Gigi" Robison, MSN, APRN, AOCN 
Director-at-Large (2022-2025)
Cincinnati, OH 


Nancy Houlihan, MA, RN, AOCN®
Immediate Past President (2020-2022)
Stonington, CT

Leadership Development Committee

Meet the members of the Leadership Development Committee and the slating process on our ONS Leadership Process page.